This advertisement speaks volumes to me right now. I have two baby nieces at the ages of 1 and 2. And it is very interesting to me to watch how their parents are raising the two little girls. There is such a huge difference in the toys, shows, and clothes that the parents dress them in compared to my nephew. And much to the annoyance of their parents, I often voice my opinion of the gendered influence on their small kids. Fewer than 3 in 10 in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are women. From early on in life, girls are targeted to be pink mommy princesses. They are raised to become consumers of frills and babies. their early exposure is all toys that have nothing to do with engineering. This commercial I believe is a great example breaking down that narrow-minded advertising to young girls.

One of the most powerful lines is in the beginning where the young girls sing “You think you know what we want, girls. Pink and pretty it’s girls. Just like the 50’s its girls.” Its the consumer culture telling parents what their little girls want, and then the little girls grow up, thinking that they belong in that box. Creating and endless consumer cycle that can only be broken by advertising and representing a wider range of toys and styles for both genders – There is a way to entertain children without labeling gender differences.

